satan offers you a deal

Standard
satan offers you a deal

Okay… so I’ve been reading this book, “Hungry for More of Jesus” by David Wilkerson. It has been one of those books that you can’t rush through. You may read one chapter a few times to let it all sink in and change your heart and mind. So I get to Chapter 8: A Letter from the Devil, right at a time in my life when I’m dealing with some really hard issues. I mean, like… heart-piercing-pain. Of course the first time I read through the chapter, I found myself saying, “Wow!” Turn the page,“Wow!” Again, “Wow!” The second time I read it through, I said, “God, thank you for allowing me to be at this place in the book, at this place in my life.” He revealed some truths that have been carrying me through the pain. Sometimes you just have to stand up and say, “Enough, No more tribute to the enemy!” Here’s a little slice from the chapter.

NO MORE TRIBUTE TO THE ENEMY!
About King Hezekiah: As long as he paid tribute to the devil (Assyria), there was no opposition, no war. But when he decided… no more compromise, he received a letter signed by Sennacherib, King of Assyria, but it was sent directly from hell! After bowing to the demands of Assyria for years, he finally cried out, “No more tribute to the enemy!”

The devil’s voice whispers, “There’s no need for you to be a nobody or to suffer unjustly. Just come out of your narrow, straight-laced ways and I’ll fix things for you. You’re going to prosper! I’ll give you all the money you need; corn, oil, wine. No more bills, no more just making ends meet. I’ll open the bank for you.” What a crooked salesman the devil is! He tells you, “Just one little deal, and all your problems will be solved. You deserve a break; you’ve suffered enough. Now it’s your turn to make it.”

But don’t be deceived: Every compromise you make in your walk with Jesus is the same as “going out” to the devil. When you sell short your relationship to Jesus, you are cutting a deal, making a bargain –and you are selling your soul in the process. Satan promises, “I [will] come and take you away to a land like your own land” (2 Kings 18:32). He says, in other words, “You can take God with you when you go with me. You will have to make some changes–but you will still be you. It won’t hurt anything. You can have it all–Jesus and a deal!”

Be warned: If you buy into this lie you will be the devil’s slave from that point on. There is no land of wine and oil or paradise as he promised. The minute you come out to him, he will slap chains around your neck and hands and lead you off to Babylon. You will never get what you thought you would get. Instead, you will get the whip and chain, broken promises and despair. You will get a taskmaster master for a father. The satisfying water he promised you is actually poisoned. No, you won’t have freedom. Instead, you will live under complete bondage, a slave to satan’s whims.


I usually don’t take much time talking about the devil. But I just want to expose him. Kick him in the gut. Spit in his face. Tell the truth about him…

He is a liar and the father of all lies.”   John 8:44

Recently in my personal life, I’ve faced some very difficult situations. Purposely being excluded and rejected. As I brought my tears before the Lord, He spoke this Word to me:

“What blessings await you when people hate you and exclude you and mock you and curse you as evil because you follow the Son of Man.  When that happens, be happy! Yes, leap for joy! For a great reward awaits you in heaven. And remember, their ancestors treated the ancient prophets that same way.” Luke 22:23

Looking at it from a new perspective, I can clearly see that my fight is not with flesh and blood but with my enemy, the devil.

Leave a Reply

