shackles

Standard
shackles

Song 26  Shackles (Praise You) 
Erica Campbell / Tina Campbell (Mary Mary)

Nothing like the beat of music like this to get your feet moving. Okay, so it’s an old song, but every time I hear it, it gets me started. Gotta love that praisin’ sound.  You need to respond to what you are singing, so if the shackles fall off your feet, you need to dance and praise Him! If you no longer have chains on your hands, you need to lift them and praise Him. Yes… praise Him through your circumstance. I’m sure you have been there… everything that could go wrong went wrong. Pressures so great, you thought you’d lose your mind. He wants us to trust Him and hold on through these trials. When you think you can’t go on any longer, He breaks the chains. He was with you in the fire and the rain. He breaks the chains.

The story behind the writing of “Shackles”: For even the most brilliant wordsmiths, the frustrating phenomena of writer’s block can bring the creative process to a halt. But for Erica and Tina Atkins of Mary Mary, an encounter with writer’s block didn’t prove to be detrimental. In fact, with a little patience and persistence, their bout led to the soulful sounds of their 2001 Dove signature song “Shackles (Praise You)” from their Grammy Award-winning album Thankful. Erica’s husband, Producer Warryn Campbell’s studio was “kind of like a little side room connected to the house directly next to the garage,” Tina recalls, “and we were trying to write and trying to write, and nothing was coming.” So after a couple of hours with no ideas translating from pen to paper, Campbell left to take a shower, and the girls retreated to another part of the house. When Campbell returned to the makeshift studio, he had an epiphany of sorts and began to sing the harmonies that eventually became “Shackles.” While the song, a modern-day account of the children of Israel in bondage but set free, was originally written for The Prince of Egypt soundtrack, the duo liked it so much they decided to keep it for their own album. Tina says the tune relates the Exodus story in a contemporary way, addressing bondage people have in their lives—whether it’s bad relationships or the stresses of family and work.

Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance │ I just want to praise you │ I just want to praise you │ You broke the chains now I can lift my hands │ and I’m gonna praise you │  I’m gonna praise you

In the corners of mind I just can’t seem to find a reason to believe that I can break free │ cause you see I have been down for so long, feel like the hope is gone │ But as I lift my hands, I understand that I should praise you through my circumstance

Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance │ I just want to praise you │ I just want to praise you │ You broke the chains now I can lift my hands │ and I’m gonna praise you │ I’m gonna praise you

Everything that could go wrong all went wrong at one time │ So much pressure fell on me, I thought I was gon lose my mind │ But I know you want to see if I will hold on through these trials │ But I need you to lift this load │ cause I can’t take it anymore

Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance │ I just want to praise you │ I just want to praise you │ You broke the chains now I can lift my hands │ and I’m gonna praise you │  I’m gonna praise you

Been through the fire and the rain │ bound in every kind of way │ but God has broken every chain │ so let me go right now

Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance │ I just want to praise you │ I just want to praise you │ You broke the chains now I can lift my hands │ and I’m gonna praise you │  I’m gonna praise you

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye

Leave a Reply

