when my world falls apart

SONG 23    WHEN MY WORLD FALLS APART/CHRIST THE SOLID ROCK

This is a song that our church sang during worship many times. One morning, I was confronted with some very disturbing news. So broken by this news, I couldn’t describe it any better than to use these lyrics. It was literally like my world had fallen apart. That the light I’d been living in turned to darkness. The storm clouds surrounded me and I was overwhelmed. I felt like my heart had broken in half and I was helpless. I couldn’t see God’s plan in this situation.

I know Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” But that truth escaped me for a while. 

On the way to work that morning, I felt like my heart was drowning in quicksand.  Driving off, I had a CD playing and this song began to play. Tears began to fall as I experienced a downpour of His love wash over me and wipe away all of the fear and doubt. God reminded me that this situation didn’t catch Him by surprise. I had to choose to stand, regardless of how I felt. And He pulled me out of the quicksand and changed things around. 

When my world falls apart and the light turns into dark │  when the clouds gather around and the storms overwhelm │ when my heart breaks in half and my strength cannot last │ when I’m lost in this land and I can’t see Your plans.

I’ll stand.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand │ all other ground is sinking sand │ all other ground is sinking sand

On Christ the solid Rock I stand │ all other ground is sinking sand │ all other ground is sinking sand

Today, I’m still standing on the solid Rock.

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye 

About evaraye

part-time blogger
This entry was posted in Doing Life with HIM!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

