eye of the storm

SONG 19  EYE OF THE STORM

From Ryan Stevenson:  The backstory is that I spent 8 years as a paramedic before I was ever signed to a record label. I dip into that experience a lot, especially in seeing people in the midst of tragedy, because I lived it for 8 years on the streets. For this song, I felt like we had to have a song on the album where we talked about that stuff and pointed people to our only hope, which is Jesus Christ, in the midst of truly terrible circumstances that I’ve witnessed over and over. 

Personally for me, I lost my mom at a young age, and my wife and I had a miscarriage of our twins a few years ago. A lot of this song is about my heart going through the ringer. One of the things I’ve seen as a paramedic is that we all have true, real struggles, ugly parts of our lives that we are dealing with and failures and defeats. In the middle of that, when we feel our sails are ripped out in the battles and wars we are going through, we can feel like we float out to sea where the Lord isn’t paying attention to us and He’s overlooked us. I want this song to say no to that. His promise to us is that He is the anchor of our being, and He is our only hope.

This song plays on the radio. It’s the kind of song that you turn up the volume when you hear it and it turns your heart to heaven. No matter what your going through, you can sing this song as a reminder that storms come and go.  Check out these lyrics. The words describe many types of storms.  But I know this… there is only ONE GOD and He will always bring me through to the other side!  Living in South Louisiana, we know about storms and when the eye  passes through, things get calm. Think of it like this… the storms can come at unexpected times. That’s the time you cry out to the Lord. He meets you there in the storm and brings you peace. Then the storm finishes it’s course and you stay surrounded in His love.

My friend Samantha and her family recently went through a storm, and as we prayed and asked God to send His peace, I watched as He did just that for her. This was a song God used to minister to her and it helped her to keep her eyes on her Savior instead of on the wind and the waves raging around them. She remained calm until the storm passed and now God is bringing comfort to her family’s hearts, wiping away the tears and she/they are finding peace in Jesus’ name!

In the eye of the storm You remain in control
 │ and in the middle of the war You guard my soul
 │ You alone are the anchor when my sails are torn
 │ Your love surrounds me
 in the eye of the storm

When the solid ground is falling out from underneath my feet │ between the black skies, and my red eyes, I can barely see  │ when I realize I’ve been sold out by my friends and my family │ I can feel the rain reminding me

In the eye of the storm You remain in control
 │ in the middle of the war You guard my soul
 │ You alone are the anchor, when my sails are torn │ Your love surrounds me in the eye of the storm

When my hopes and dreams are far from me and I’m runnin’ out of faith  │ I see the future I picture slowly fade away │ and when the tears of pain and heartache are pouring down my face 
│ I find my peace in Jesus’ name

In the eye of the storm You remain in control
 │ In the middle of the war You guard my soul
 │ You alone are the anchor, when my sails are torn │ Your love surrounds me in the eye of the storm

When the test comes in and the doctor says I’ve only got a few months left │ it’s like a bitter pill I’m swallowing, I can barely take a breath │ and when addiction steals my baby girl and there’s nothing I can do │ my only hope is to trust You │ I trust You, Lord

In the eye of the storm You remain in control
 │ In the middle of the war You guard my soul
 │ You alone are the anchor, when my sails are torn │ Your love surrounds me in the eye of the storm

In the eye of the storm You remain in control │ In the middle of the war You guard my soul │ You alone are the anchor when my sails are torn │ Your love surrounds me in the eye of the storm

Oh, in the eye of, in the eye of the storm 
I know You’re watching me, yeah

When the storm is raging  and my hope is gone
│ when my flesh is failing You’re still holding on, oh whoa │  when the storm is raging and my hope is gone │ when my flesh is failing You’re still holding on, ooh

The Lord is my Shepherd I have all that I need
 │ He let’s me rest in green meadows│  He leads me beside peaceful streams │  He renews my strength │ He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to His Name │ even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid │ 
for You are close beside me

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye

About evaraye

part-time blogger
This entry was posted in Doing Life with HIM!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

