not for a moment

SONG 14  NOT FOR A MOMENT

Storms! I don’t like them. When you know the storm is coming you can kinda-sorta prepare for it. But when there’s no warning, and suddenly I’m surrounded by pounding waves of guilt and failure or sitting in the midst of thundering accusations from the enemy, it feels like God is a thousand miles away.  But this song reminds me that “not for a moment did He forsake me.”

You were reaching through the storm 
│ walking on the water │ 
even when I could not see 
│ in the middle of it all 
│ when I thought You were a thousand miles away │ 
not for a moment did You forsake me │ 
not for a moment did You forsake me

Constant — adjective; not changing or varying; continuing without pause or letup; unceasing; continual; persistent; faithful; unswerving in love, devotion. These are just a few of Webster’s definitions for ‘constant’. And all of these words are accurate descriptions of God in my life. 

After all You are constant
 │ after all You are only good
 │ after all You are sovereign
 │ not for a moment will You forsake me

Again and again He sings over me in the dark places, in the spaces of my life… when all I have is a promise from Him. I love the words to this song. He’s not a thousand miles away. He is carrying me a thousand miles to show me that He will never forsake me. 

You were singing in the dark
 │ whispering Your promise
 │ even when I could not hear
 │ I was held in Your arms 
│ carried for a thousand miles to show
 │ not for a moment did You forsake me

He is constant! He is good! He is Sovereign! 

After all You are constant
 │ after all You are only good
 │ after all You are sovereign
 │ not for a moment will You forsake me

I love all of these ‘everys.” Every step. Every breath. Every tear. Every cry. Every prayer. When I feel like my heart is in my throat and there’s no more tears, He is there. When I am at my worst, He is doing His best and lifts me. I am never alone. I love my Jesus!!!

And every step, every breath you are there │ every tear, every cry, every prayer
 │ in my hurt, at my worst
, when my world falls down │
not for a moment will You forsake me
 │ even in the dark
 │ even when it’s hard
 │You will never leave me
 │ after all

After all You are constant 
│ after all You are only good
 │after all You are sovereign 
│ not for a moment will You forsake me
 │not for a moment will You forsake me
 │ not for a moment will You forsake me

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye

About evaraye

part-time blogger
This entry was posted in Doing Life with HIM!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

