darkness falls

Standard
darkness falls

SONG 7  DARKNESS FALLS
by Kristopher Neel 

 I love this song for several reasons:

  • My pastor’s son wrote the song. God has anointed Kris to write worship songs. God has filled his heart with expressions of love to our God and we get to borrow his expressions to worship the Lord.
  • This song takes me to that place of searching my heart, bearing my heart, and finding God meeting me, then returning His own song to me. Well done child.
  • I think it’s pretty cool that Lauren Daigle sang the female vocal in this song. Plus, all the arrangements and assistance came from boys who grew up at our church. 

I’m sure you will add this to your playlist.

The battle rages on │ deep down within me │ my flesh pulls one way │ Your will pulls the other │ this battle must be won │ and it’s mine to fight │ You know I long to be victorious

We can all confess that when a battle rages with in us, sometimes our flesh wants to pull against God’s will. I have a competitive nature and any battle I’m in, I fight to win. Like these words – God knows I want to be victorious. But if you are in a fight against God’s will… it’s not a fair fight. If you are a lover of God your heart will eventually surrender to Him. And when that happens, I am victorious!!!

When the darkness falls │ and I am at my weakest point │ let me be found faithful │As the years go by and you look back on all I’ve done │ let me be found faithful │faithful │ faithful

In my moment of darkness; when I am at my weakest point, I desperately want to remain faithful. My heart’s desire is to know the Lord’s will and to please Him in all I do. My hope is to live a life of faithfulness to Him.

What good are my intentions │ without convictions │Come stir my inner being │ beyond all emotion │ what good are my successes │ without holiness │ I could gain the world │ and still be without you

I usually start out with good intentions and what I want most is to be moved by the Holy Spirit’s conviction. My emotions get in the way sometimes. Does this speak to you? I need this stirring that Lauren is singing about. Let’s face it, success is not worth it if you have to lie, cheat and steal to get it. I’d rather have Jesus than the success of this world. Give me JESUS!

When the darkness falls and I am at my weakest point │ let me be found faithful │As the years go by and you look back on all I’ve done │ let me be found faithful │faithful │ faithful

Looking back on all I’ve done, will I be found faithful? God will not look back on my life and see sin, if I have repented and turn from it. So one way to be found faithful is to choose to forgive. The only way your sins will be remembered is if you don’t forgive others, yourself. Matthew 6:15 says “But if you refuse to forgive others, your Father will not forgive your sins.” I choose to forgive!

The verses and chorus are all about examining my heart, my weaknesses, my intentions, and my will. I love this bridge. I love the way the music takes me from all-about-me into ALL-ABOUT-HIM!  

He is brilliant! Synonyms: bright · shining · blazing · dazzling · vivid · intense · gleaming · glaring ·  luminous ·  radiant ·  coruscating ·  bold

All of the above. In all of His glory He looks down on me. I want Him to be pleased with me. I want Him to say, “Well done child.”   

You are brilliant │ shining like the stars │ when You look down on me │ I hope you’re pleased with me

You are brilliant │ shining like the stars │ when I see your face│ I long to hear you say
Well done child │ well done child │ well done child │ you’ve been faithful

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye

Leave a Reply

