it’s a boy

Standard
it’s a boy

Joy Story #29

image

I’m really thrilled to share a Joy Story from my best friend, Donna. As we sat together she shared details of their journey through adoption. Laughter and a few tears came as we went down memory lane, back to 2001 when God brought Caleb into our lives. To this day, I still look across the church seeing them sitting together and my heart is filled with joy all over again! May your heart be filled with joy as you read their story!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Although my husband and I had a strong and loving relationship, we desperately wanted to have a child of our own. Through those years, buckets of tears would fall.

Being at family get-togethers became harder and harder. I can remember a particular camping trip; seeing all of my nieces and nephews huddled together for a picture.  I felt like someone was missing in that snapshot. There should be another child with them. I cried myself to sleep that night. Every May, I dreaded facing another Mother’s Day!

We had a strong support group in my family and church friends. One lady I didn’t know at the time, who is now a good friend, was compelled to meet me at the altar with a word of encouragement. She didn’t know us personally, or even what our situation was, but God spoke to her, to share her story of waiting for a child. She didn’t know if that would make any sense to us, but she obeyed the Lord. It was a word just for us and gave me strength in the waiting.

After being married 10 years, we decided to apply for adoption at Highland Adoption Agency in Missouri. The administrator told us it could take 3 to 5 years to be chosen by a birth mother.

Year one… no phone calls.
Year two… no phone calls.
Continuing year after year.

At the point of giving up, I said, “God, I don’t think I can do this anymore. How much longer?”

Year five… ring, ring, ring! The time? 10 am on June 29, 2001.

It was the adoption agency asking, “Are you still interested in adopting a baby?” I almost fainted. Through very joyful tears I shouted, “Yes, yes, we are!”

She told us the baby was due on July 12 and the birth mother looked at our photo album, read our story, and chose us. What she wanted most was that her child be adopted by a couple who waited many years for a baby.

WHAT’S NEXT?
There was a possibility that the birth mom could change her mind. As the days drew closer to the due date, she told the agency to reassure us that she was not going to change her mind.

We waited and prayed and waited longer. I prayed specifically asking God to let me hear my baby’s first cry!

Second phone call… July 9 at 3:10 am… it’s a boy! The administrator called us only minutes after the baby was born. This is an amazing part of the story. I heard my son’s first cry and I joined in with him! Only God knew the prayer of my heart. Later, I found out that it’s not standard procedure to let the adoptive family hear the baby’s cry. It’s always kept private for the birth mom, but the birth mother insisted that I needed to hear my son’s cry.

image
Meeting our son for the first time!

donna holding caleb   image
First Day Home, First Mother’s Day

image   image

image   CALEB on camping trip

CALEBS FATHERS DAY    image
Memories of Father’s Day and Mother’s Day!

WHAT’S IN HIS NAME?
The birth mom asked us what we wanted to name our son and the meaning behind our choice.

Caleb Jordan
Caleb = bold for the Lord (and he sure does live up to his name)
Jordan = breakthrough to your promise

ON THE ROAD TO GET OUR SON!
We had to travel to Missouri to get our little bundle of joy! That was the longest trip we have ever taken, barely getting any sleep the night before. As I held Caleb Jordan for the first time, I showered him with my tears. I felt like I was dreaming. His eyes were so fixed on me. The memory of that day will never be forgotten.

JOY UNSPEAKABLE!!!

A FATHER’S TOUCH!
My husband’s experience was pretty much the same… holding him close, Caleb just snuggled perfectly on his shoulder and went right to sleep. In his words as he rocked his son, “He smells so delicious!”

We came home to a heart-warming celebration with our family welcoming us! I was never so exhausted, and yet completely fulfilled as a new mother. Caleb is a perfect fit in our family!

Now… 14 years later, Caleb stands nearly 5’10”.
He’s tall and handsome, intelligent and independent, kind and courageous, bold in His faith, quite the hunter (like Father, like son)!

And he’s our boy!!

caleb and donna    caleb and snooks

Living and Loving Family Life!
Donna

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I’m so thankful that I get to share in their blessing! I’m Nana to this cool young man. I’m so proud of him!
Love you, Caleb!

 

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye

Leave a Reply

