GOD bless sheila

Standard

Joy Story #31

It’s been fun sharing these Joy Stories with you. October is done and this is my last story. I wasn’t sure what to write about… I almost shared about our garden, but it didn’t turn out that way. God had another story in mind that I didn’t know about yet! We were quite busy today. We made our way in the rain to get a few groceries. Phil went to return the buggy and noticed a lady sitting on one of those motorized buggies. He asked her if she needed some help, thinking, maybe she need a ride to her car because of the heavy rain.

image

Here’s what happened:

Sheila wanted a ride to Waffle House. All she had was a blue plastic bag with all of her possessions. I drove the car around to get them.

Waffle House, here we come!

Asking her a few questions, we found out she has been homeless for long time. She eventually wanted to get to Broussard or Lafayette but Waffle House was her destination. I asked her about family and she said she has an Aunt in Alexandria and her Father lived in Houston. We offered to buy her a bus ticket or train ticket to either place. What’s crazy is she kept refusing our help. She’s been living like this for so long, it has become her comfort zone. That’s so sad. She refused a room at the Days Inn.  She kept saying she didn’t want to burden us and thanked us for bringing her. We bought her a meal and prayed with her right there in the restaurant.

So tonight, our hearts are heavy for the Sheila’s in this world. She is only one of many. If you think about her, please pray for her.

God, bless Sheila!

Although Sheila didn’t except all the help we offered, I’m thankful that we had the opportunity to share God’s love in a practical way! Her belly was full and God will send someone else to be a blessing to her!

God’s Word tells us what to do for Sheila:

Matthew 25:35-40 “For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.”

What more can I say? Feed Sheila if you see her!

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye

Leave a Reply

