fill me up

JOY STORY #26

Thinking back to a quiet moment I had with the Lord. As I closed my eyes to sit a while in His presence, I saw a shelf filled with beautiful pitchers. Something a little like the picture below, only they were more beautiful. You know, like the kind your mom says, “Don’t touch!” Wondering where God was taking this little vision/thought, I said to myself, like a child, “Now which one do I want to be?” Kids do that all the time. They’re always choosing; you’ll hear them say “I’m this one, I’m that one!”

beautiful pitchers
I have always admired pretty things. If it catches my eye, I want to stop and look at it. Having those beautiful things is nice, but what do you do with them. These objects sit on your shelves, collecting dust. Some of them are too fragile to use.

Back to sitting with the Lord… while looking at each vessel, I saw one standing alone on the countertop filled. Something like this:

ice tea pitcher

Nothing fancy… but I could tell that it was the most useful vessel of them all. As a matter of fact, this pitcher would get picked up, the tea would get served until empty, washed and dried, and placed on the counter-top again. It was never put away on the shelf. I googled the description of a pitcher like this one: It’s break-resistant,  heavy-duty, dishwasher-safe, clear, and great for all beverage serving needs. Now that’s pretty cool and it’s a picture of what God is looking for in us. We can’t be fragile or break easily. We have to endure the scrubbing required to stay clean. Clear, meaning transparent. Great for all serving needs, willing to do what God asks of us.

The Lord spoke to me during that quiet moment. My first thoughts were to be one of the most beautiful vessels of all, placed high on a shelf for everyone to see. But then I realized that the fancy vessels were never used. They just stayed on the shelf to be admired. That’s not what I want.

I want God to choose me.

I want God to fill me up every day.

I want God to pour me out.

I want God to wash and cleanse me.

I want God to use me again and again!

If you keep yourself pure, you will be a special utensil for honorable use. Your life will be clean, and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work.
 2 Timothy 2:21

So how can we be that vessel He uses? It happens in that place where we lay down our lives in total surrender, and say, “Here I am Lord, use me! Fill me up so I can be poured out for you.” If you are willing to put aside your agenda and watch for His… He will find you waiting and He will choose you!

fill me up with pitcher

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye

About evaraye

part-time blogger
This entry was posted in Doing Life with HIM!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

