fresh oil

Standard

Joy Story # 25

Let’s go back to a time in 1996, when The Holy Spirit was moving powerfully in our church and many people were being touched! If you were there, you know what I’m talking about. There was a sovereign move of God taking place, causing men and women, teens and young children to repent, cry out for their lost loved ones, and seek what pleases the Lord. This scripture describes it pretty well: Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord” Acts 3:19   The Spirit was changing our hearts. God’s manifest presence was so evident, we didn’t want to leave. Not only was God moving in church, He was moving in our homes. The Spirit of the fear of the Lord came upon us and all we wanted to do was stay in His presence and invite others to come and experience this revival fire.

One night after the service, I was spending some time at the altar. The only way to describe what was happening… it was as though The Holy Spirit was like oil flowing through me. I could literally feel something moving through my veins. I’m not trying to make this sound scary. There was nothing spooky about it.  I was so in awe of His presence in me and surrounding me. When it was time to go home, and I didn’t want to leave that beautiful experience. I prayed to the Lord saying, “Give me a sign that the Holy Spirit will never run dry in my life; that I will always have the fresh oil of His presence.”

I know that may seem like a strange prayer, but I desperately wanted the Holy Spirit to continue to flow through me every day. As I left the church that night, I felt like my feet didn’t touch the ground.  Turning down my street and approaching the driveway I noticed a sign in the corner of my yard. Here’s what it looked like:

fresh oil

This is the honest truth… I began to laugh! I was so amazed that God would literally place a SIGN in my yard to tell me that I would always have Fresh Oil! Now, the reason for the sign was because the road workers were about to begin work to blacktop the street on the side of my house. But that didn’t matter to me. God gave me a sign that fresh oil would never run dry. That’s proof enough the God I serve listens carefully to my heart’s cry. He doesn’t have to do these things, to make me love Him.  I love Him with all my heart anyway.  It’s just so awesome that He took the time to orchestrate all of this just to assure me that the Holy Spirit would always be available for me.

I love my God! Father, Son, Holy Spirit!

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye

 

Leave a Reply

