bad news, good news

JOY STORY #22

Look around you… we live in a dark and violent world. Our country has forsaken the truths that built America. The news is bombarded with headlines that will strike terror into the hearts of people. Beheadings, Bombings, Shootings in schools/theaters, killings of our First Responders, Racism/Prejudices, Identity Crisis and so on and so on. The craziness is longer than I can list.

headlines

It may seem that there is no way to escape the gripping fear that some people experience. But I’m here to tell you… there is. Choose who you’re going to follow. Will you follow CNN or FOX News or whatever source you watch for current events? It’s important to keep up with news, to some degree. Don’t let it rob you of your joy! Years ago I chose to follow Jesus! Best decision I’ve ever made. I truly live a life of joy, regardless of the events happening around me. Fear doesn’t have a hold on me, and it doesn’t have to grip you, either.

If you want a life of joy, the news you need to hear is this:
“For this is how God loved the world: He gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life.  God sent his Son into the world not to judge the world, but to save the world through him.” John 3:16-17

Take time to read Luke 15. Jesus tells us three parables.
1) The man with 100 sheep and one was lost.
2) The lady who lost a valuable coin.
3) A Father who lost his dear son.

In each of these stories, there was tremendous joy and celebration, because what was lost was then found.

Salvation and Joy don’t come cheaply. It comes at a great expense to Father God, through the sacrifice of His Son, Jesus Christ, who suffered, died, and rose to life again! It’s a change that takes place deep within your heart. You recognize that you have need of a Savior. It’s called Salvation.

God’s Word says in Luke 19:10, For the Son of Man came to seek and save those who are lost.”

If that is you, I would like to pray with you. It’s not a magic prayer that will give you free entrance into heaven. It doesn’t work like that. You have to admit you are a sinner, acknowledge that Christ died for you, call on His name, ask Him to forgive you of your sin and save you, commit to turn from your sin and serve Him all the days of your life.

So let’s do this. Pray with me with a sincere heart.

Father God, I come to you in the name of Jesus. I acknowledge that I am a sinner in need of a Savior. I am so sorry for my sins and the life that I have lived; I need your forgiveness. I believe that your only Son Jesus Christ shed His precious blood on the cross and died for my sins, and I willing choose to turn from my sin. You said, “that if we confess Jesus is Lord and believe in our hearts that God raised Him from the dead, we shall be saved.” With all of my heart, I believe. Thank you, Jesus, for leading me to repentance. Wash me, cleanse me and make me new. I will love you and serve you all the days of my life.

There’s a party in heaven, celebrating your salvation! Luke 15:9 “In the same way, there is joy in the presence of God’s angels when even one sinner repents.”
jesus with boy
You must do a few things to grow in your walk with the Lord!
Talk to Him every day!
Read His Word every day!
Worship Him with all your heart!
Share what He’s done in your life!
Get plugged into a church the will challenge you to obey God’s Word!

Here are a few scriptures to turn to for further study:
Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.”
Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life, through Jesus Christ.”
Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” 
Romans 10:9.10 “If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”
Romans 10:13 “Everyone who calls on the name of the LORD will be saved.”

Salvation and Joy belong together! I’d love for you to leave a comment if you prayed this prayer for the first time, or you have recommitted your life to Jesus!

Living in HIS Joy!
Eva Raye

About evaraye

part-time blogger
This entry was posted in Doing Life with HIM!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to bad news, good news

  1. Shirlean says:

    God never stops amazing me!! Amen!

Leave a Reply

