A friend, a gift, a miracle

JOY STORY #10

april 2011 photos 091   april 2011 photos 092
Picture 1: It’s where we spent 3 years of our lives. Here’s the run-down. I would drop Phil off every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 6:15 am to get his dialysis treatment. I had almost 2 hours before I started work, so I’d get alone with the Lord and worship, pray and read the Word.  I would leave my office to pick him up at 11 am and we’d go back to my office until noon. During my lunch hour, I’d bring Phil to our house, 25 minutes away. He would usually be worn out on the day of his treatment. I’d get home at 5:30 pm and prepare for the next day. It sounds hard, but God truly gave us strength to endure. Continually getting alone with the Lord had a lot to do with it.  It became our normal. He was with us all along the way.

Picture 2: The day of Phil’s last dialysis treatment! TYJ!!! (Thank you Jesus)

2010 CHristmas gifts 074

Enter Rosie… After almost 3 years of dialysis, the doctor encouraged us to have Phil put on a transplant list. He would need a kidney and a pancreas. A living donor would be the best option for a kidney transplant. They told us that ideally, a family member would be the best match. Requirements to donate a kidney is pretty strict. You have to be in great shape, a non-smoker, can’t be overweight, blood type and tissue has to match closely.

As we waited for a match, God put it on the heart a dear friend to be tested, seeing if she would qualified for donating one of her kidneys. The tests were all done and right before Christmas 2010, we received the call that it was a Go! She was very closely matched with Phil. Amazingly close, for not being a blood relative.

What a gift! WOW!!! There are no words to express how we felt. That someone was willing to lay down their life for Phil. AMAZING!!! Okay.. so let’s fast forward to January 12, 2011 Methodist Hospital.

The surgery went SUPER GREAT! Let me just share this one story; it’s too awesome not to share. The surgeon said that right after they connected the kidney to the bladder, Phil woke up and said, “I need to go to the bathroom; let me up, I need to go to the bathroom.” It took all 8 doctors and assistants to hold him down while they were finishing the surgery. Once he got to his room, he wanted to walk, so within a few hours, he was making laps down the hall. The only word to describe Phil’s recovery is “SOARING!” He said he hasn’t felt that good in 3 years.

I love my God and give Him all the praise and glory!!! Moving on, he did have a few hiccups in the recovery stage. Diabetes brought on many crashes, because of the steroids he had to take. Things got better day by day! He had a working kidney. Once he fully recovers, they would add him to the pancreas transplant list. That’s a story for a later date. I have many notes on my Facebook page with updates throughout this experience. I could go on and on with what God has done, through this sacrificial gift. Our lives are forever changed because Rose gave of herself.

Of course… I have to mention that we had a great opportunity to bring Jesus to a hurting world. The people we were surrounded by were going through serious illness and surgeries, as well.

Almost 5 years have gone by, and that kidney is going strong. We love not having to go to the dialysis clinic. MIRACLE! There are so many stories I can tell of God’s faithfulness during this awesome miracle. I’ll have to write that book.

If you are going through something right now and you just can’t see past the storm, let me leave you with this: “Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost” (Romans 15:13) Phil and I will believe with you for the VICTORY in your storm.

Living in HIS joy!
Eva Raye

About evaraye

part-time blogger
This entry was posted in Doing Life with HIM!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

