fullness of joy

when in gods presence

JOY STORY #7

Sing songs from your heart to Christ. Sing praises over everything, any excuse for a song to God the Father in the name of our Master, Jesus Christ.     – Ephesians 5:19-20 (The Message)

Worship:
It’s one of my favorite pass times.
It’s one of the weapons I use when I can’t see past the storm.
It’s what I do just to display my love to Him.
It’s more than a song; it’s a lifestyle.

Worshipers. It’s who the Father is looking for. I want Him to find me, every day worshiping Him.

“But the hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth; for the Father is seeking such to worship Him.    – John 4:23

Today, I invite you into my time with the Lord this morning. I made my way to that secret place to worship him. It’s was a sweet time in His presence. The song playing…

Your favor follows me. Your kindness leads me to a hope I cannot see.
Faithful are you, Father, to fulfill Your every promise.
The desires of my heart are made complete, cause your favor follows me.

I’ll give you everything I have. I’ll give you everything I have.
Cause I was undeserving and you chose me.

I have to say, there is nothing more rewarding than finding a quiet place to spend time with Jesus. I love to sing and make music in my heart to the Lord. I love to talk to talk to Him and I love to hear Him talk to me.

WEBSTER’S DEFINITION OF WORSHIP: to perform acts of homage or adoration; to perform religious service. Sorry guys, I disagree with Webster. That sounds so plain and boring… and worship is anything but boring.

MY DEFINITION OF WORSHIP:  to pour my love on Jesus, like fragrant perfume that reaches His throne and captures His attention.

MARY WITH HER ALABASTER JAR!
She is a worshiper… she took the most valuable gift she had and broke it at Jesus’ feet. In reading this story several times, I’ve wondered… Where did she get this expensive perfume? Could it have been a gift she received from one of her male companions? I THINK she was breaking that jar, not only as an anointing for Jesus but as a sign of her breaking away from her past. She didn’t want to hold on to anything that would remind her of her past. Her worship was so significant that her story was told in all 4 gospels. God made sure we would read about it. (This woman, Mary, is sister to Martha and Lazarus).  John 11:2 says, “Now a man named Lazarus was sick. He was from Bethany, the village of Mary and her sister Martha.  This Mary, whose brother Lazarus now lay sick, was the same one who poured perfume on the Lord and wiped his feet with her hair.” This is the same Mary we know, as the one who chose the one thing that was needful; to sit at Jesus’ feet.

WORSHIP IS MORE THAN SINGING!
Some people think that worship is just singing songs to the Lord… that is just a small part of worship. It’s more than a song… it’s a condition of the heart: although songs help us to enter into His presence. James 4:8 says, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” YOU have to take action first. He’s waiting for you to draw near.

WORSHIP FILLS US WITH JOY!
A life of praise and worship not only brings us joy, it brings joy to God. If you see someone who’s always upset about things or complaining about everything… basically having a sour attitude all the time… more than likely – they are not worshiping. A. W. Tozer said, “Without worship, we go about miserable.” Isn’t that the truth? Personally, I have several favorite scriptures… but these two verses I really love. Psalm 16:11 You will fill me with joy in your presence. AND Nehemiah 8:10 The joy of the Lord is my strength. Let me give you my understanding of these two verses. Joy comes from being in His presence. When you leave His presence, you leave with His strength.

WORSHIP PROVIDES A WAY OF ESCAPE!
In my personal life, worship provides a way of escape from my troubles. We should develop a habit of running to God when faced with trouble; not running to people. You must take time to separate yourself from the situation. This is so important. It will help you to regain your focus. I’m speaking from my own experience. I’ve been in battles before that just seemed so BIG that it’s all I could see… right there in my face. My vision of God was blocked. Worship is the weapon I use to get above those overwhelming circumstances into His presence. Sing with me… “Oh magnify the Lord with me. Let us exalt His name together. I sought the Lord and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.”  When you magnify something, it bigger, right? When we magnify the Lord, He gets BIGGER… He blocks my view of the problem.

The JOY in my story:
I have an open invitation to enter His presence… any day, anytime. YOU have an open invitation to enter His presence. Have you made your way there today? Run… He is waiting for you!

Living in HIS joy!
Eva Raye

About evaraye

part-time blogger
This entry was posted in Doing Life with HIM!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

