the day GOD spoke to mom

JOY STORY #6

princess mom
At Audrey’s Princess Birthday Party

It was early Sunday morning and she heard these words, “Get up and go to church.” She was in the middle of putting the wet clothes in the dryer. She finished up in the laundry room and sat back down at the kitchen table like she always does on Sunday morning. She heard it again, “Get up and go to church!” It only took two times for my Mom to realize that it was really God speaking to her.

So, of course, she did what He said. She got up and got ready for church. She had not been to our church services for a while. Let me share a little about my mother: I have the greatest mom! What a role model. She has always been a loyal wife and mother. Back up just a little. In January 1981, my dad was in a serious boating accident that left him in critical condition. As a matter of fact, the doctors didn’t think he would survive. I watched my mom care for my father, offering him sacrificial and unconditional love. Although I knew it was hard, she made it look so easy. It was difficult for her to attend a church service or any special events, because of the demands of caring for my dad. She walked with him through the good, the bad, and the ugly. The details of his accident is for another day, another story.

So… 27 years down the road, mom became a widow. She worked through the grief, loneliness, and uncertainties. It’s been 7 years now since my dad died. God had a plan all along. Things changed one morning in September 2014. The day God spoke to her saying, “Go to church…?”

The JOY in my story:

When she arrived at the church and my husband, Phil saw her, he said, “Maw, what are you doing here?” She said, “God told me to go to church, so here I am!” He responded by saying… “God told me to go to church 20 years ago and I’ve been going ever since.”  What a joy to have her sitting with us in church! Then as we turn around, there was my niece. That very same day, God spoke to her, saying that she needed Jesus! I just wasn’t expecting it to happen like that. When mom saw her granddaughter, she said, “Now I know why God told me to go to church.” It’s way cool that God spoke to both of them on the same day.

What’s way cooler is, not only did she come that Sunday morning, but she got plugged in serving at church. It’s been a little over a year and she is a part of the Nursing Home Ministry every Monday, the Hospitality Team every Sunday and cooks a meal for home-bound couples. I love watching what God is doing!

I know that we don’t get to pick our family, but I’m so glad He picked my Mom for me! Be sure to give your mom a great BIG hug when you see her! Leave me a comment sharing something about your mom. I’d love to hear from you.

I love you, Mom! You’re the best!

Living in HIS joy,
Eva Raye

About evaraye

part-time blogger
This entry was posted in Doing Life with HIM!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

