meet bonnie lynn

Standard

image

JOY Story #2

This is my sweet Bonnie Lynn, my first born. She is now 35 years old. But she will always be my baby girl. Before she made her grand entrance into our lives, things were going smoothly. The first thing I did was mark my calendar on the July 24 square and anxiously waited for that day to come. I was careful to eat healthy and listen to my doctor. I gained a total of 16 pounds at the end of the 9 months. During the last month of my pregnancy, my precious little girl kept me guessing, because I would have unusual pains that were like contractions, coming 10 minutes apart. I would say, “Is this the real thing?” Although the pain was never that intense, I thought maybe that is the worst I would feel. July 24 came and went without any excitement. Then another day, and another and another. Exactly one week later than expected, on the evening of July 31, 1980 at about 8:30, things were different. I could not bear the pain I was experiencing. And those pains came every 3 minutes never missing the clock’s tick… I had no doubt that it was the real thing!

We got to the hospital and the normal routine took place. They settled me in a room, and began to monitor my contractions. No complications up to this point. The contractions continued until I was far enough along to have the drugs! Sorry, everyone… I’m not one for enduring physical pain if I don’t have to. I took the meds and the pain slowly calmed down. When the time came to reach goal of holding my newborn, things changed. They took me into the delivery room and got all the machines hooked up. I’m not sure how long it was but they could no longer find the heart beat of my baby. My water never broke so the doctor had to make that happen. When he did he noticed feces in the water. They realized that she was in stress. To this day, I do not know what kind of stress she had. The C-Section staff was called in to do emergency surgery.

Here’s the JOY in my story:
It was my first child and somehow, I was scared and calm at the same time. I could only think of one thing to do as a young Christian. I remembered a scripture… “Anyone who calls on the name of the Lord, shall be delivered.” Joel 2:32. My daughter needed to be delivered and she couldn’t call out to Jesus herself. I quoted the verse out loud and began to call on his name, JESUS! I called out “JESUS” 3 times and the doctor said, “We have a baby girl.” Bonnie Lynn was born at 2:33 am August 1, 1980. No need for surgery. Because of the time frame that there was no heart beat, they had to call the pediatrician to examine her. They informed me that she could possibly have brain damage from the stress in delivery.

There was no brain damage whatsoever. Let me just brag a little… my girl graduated with honors, completed her college degree with a Masters in Counseling. She’s smart and she’s my favorite daughter!

Living in HIS joy!
Eva Raye

One response »

Leave a Reply

