baseball cap and a pink tutu

Standard
JOY STORY #1
What does a baseball cap and a pink tutu have to do with joy?

miki house mini ballerina princess dollIn growing up, I didn’t know that I was made exactly the way God intended. I didn’t always like the way I looked. I wished I looked like some of my friends. They had the perfect face, body, etc. We all have something we wish we could change about ourselves. I was always labeled “the Tomboy” in my family. You couldn’t get me to wear a dress for special occasions. I’m not saying I had a gender identity crisis; nothing like that. I never questioned if I should have been a boy or girl. Most of the time I preferred doing things with the guys in my neighborhood. They just did the coolest things and I fit right in. I loved baseball. It was the highlight of my summers! I’d grab my cap and head to the park. I played tough and I played to win. On our team, I was the pitcher and my sister, the catcher. My grandfather came to most of our games and cheered us on. He was so, so proud of us. (As a soccer Granny, I can now relate to how he felt.) And then…baseball season would come to an end. I’d hang up my cap and put on my leotard, tutu and toe shoes and spin and twirl with the rest of ballerinas. I was innocently living my young life doing what I enjoyed. You can love baseball and ballet, right?

My childhood was fun! Lots of wonderful memories. I always thought that I was my dad’s favorite girl. When he passed away, I found out that my sister’s thought they were his favorite. He had a way of making all of us feel like we were his favorite child. That’s kind of like our heavenly father. He makes us feel so special.

Here’s the JOY in my story:

The stuff about a baseball and a pink tutu? Just a little something I wanted you to know about me.  Here’s a little something else about me and you.

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.”   Psalm 139:13-16

I surrendered my life to Jesus one week before I turned 19. God spared me of so much stuff. I began to live my life with purpose. My life has never been the same since February 16, 1979. He never ceases to amaze me. Facing trials and hardships alone would be terrible. I can boldly and confidently say that I’ve never walked alone, regardless of the circumstances. He’s been faithful to me in the small things and the BIG! I’ll share more about God’s intimate involvement in my life tomorrow and throughout the month of October. Thanks for taking time to visit.

Living in His Joy!
Eva Raye

One response »

Leave a Reply

