in a pit with a lion on a snowy day

lion in pit greatest regret

I just started reading this book, “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day.” It’s another… OH MY… kind of book; makes me want to chase after lions!

It’s based on a scripture that most people pass over when reading the Old Testament. Check it out: 2 Samuel 23:21 and following. This guy, Benaiah is chasing after a lion and they both fall into a pit, and it’s a snowy day. Talk about having a bad day. Really, what was he thinking? Who in their right mind would chase after a lion – period? I am not about to chase after a lion. No Way!

We all have things we’re afraid of. I don’t like spiders or snakes… I can handle a lion in a cage at a distance. In reading just the first few pages of this book, I’m reminded of experiences in my past that could represent lions:

  • a broken heart
  • a 7-year old son diagnosed with cancer
  • a son in and out of jail for drugs and wrong choices
  • a son serving in Iraq
  • hurricane 1 destroying our home
  • hurricane 2 destroying our home
  • diabetes attacking my husband’s vision and kidneys

These are just a few of the lions we’ve conquered in life.

  • my heart is no longer broken
  • my son is cancer free and almost 30 yrs. old
  • my son is finally free of any charges (working on his testimony)
  • my son is safely back from Iraq
  • home repaired and debt free after the 2 hurricanes
  • kidney and pancreas transplant (husband no longer diabetic)

So looking in the rearview mirror gives me a picture of the challenges I’ve overcome!

later…………

About evaraye

part-time blogger
This entry was posted in Doing Life with HIM!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

